Shop Symphony Store
Home / DVDs & Blu-rays / SFS Media / San Francisco Symphony at 100 (DVD or Blu-ray)
San Francisco Symphony at 100 (DVD or Blu-ray)

San Francisco Symphony at 100 (DVD or Blu-ray)

DVD or Blu-ray
Our price: $24.99
Blu-ray Sale:  $34.99  $29.99
2012 Emmy® Award Winner for Best Historical/Cultural Program or Special!
In September of 2011, the San Francisco Symphony and Michael Tilson Thomas launched the Orchestra’s milestone Centennial Season with a celebratory gala concert dubbed “Fanfare for a New Century” at Davies Symphony Hall. The gala concert is presented here on DVD and Blu-ray as the Emmy® Award-Winning San Francisco Symphony at 100.*
MTT is joined by legendary violinist Itzhak Perlman to perform Mendelssohn's Violin Concerto in E minor.
The concert opens with Aaron Copland’s vivid portrayal of American prairie life, the Billy the Kid Ballet Suite and concludes with Britten’s orchestral showpiece The Young Person’s Guide to the Orchestra of which the San Francisco Chronicle said: “…as Thomas led his colleagues, section by section and soloist by soloist… the listener could only marvel at the level of individual excellence and communal artistry on display.” Capping off the concert is an encore of Bay Area composer John Adams’ Short Ride in a Fast Machine featuring moving images of San Francisco projected throughout Davies Symphony Hall.
The gala concert is hosted by author Amy Tan and is directed by Gary Halvorson.
Woven into the concert, San Francisco Symphony at 100 includes historical documentary segments narrated by Amy Tan highlighting the Orchestra's early beginnings, its rich history of touring, and its innovations in media.
San Francisco Symphony at 100 and the historical documentary segments were made possible by a gift from Nan Tucker McEvoy.
Those interested in San Francisco Symphony at 100 may also be interested in MTT's A Celebration of Leonard Bernstein.
Gala Feature: 88 minutes
Bonus Features: 58 minutes of documentary vignettes chronicling the past 100 Years of the San Francisco Symphony
The Gala Feature is presented in High Definition 16:9 widescreen with 2.0 Stereo Dolby Digital and 5.1 Surround Sound.
The Blu-ray additionally features 96/24 Dolby Stereo and 5.1 Surround Dolby TrueHD.
Dolby TrueHD is a 100 percent lossless audio format that ensures you'll experience movies and music that are identical to the studio masters, soundstage mixes, or concert recordings. Besidses enabling your sound system to perform to its optimum capability, Dolby TrueHD with Advanced 96k upsampling provides a richer, more natural sounding Blu-ray listening experience from content originally captured at 48KHz. The result is a playback experience that brings you even closer to the original concert performance.

Bonus Features are Stereo only.

Subtitles are in English, Spanish (North American), and Chinese (traditional and simplified).
Region: 0 (works worldwide)
*The DVD and Blu-ray do not feature the televised performance by Lang Lang.
: *
: *
: *